When You Need It Most

Everyone said that you were in love with me,

But that was too hard for me to see.

One day you told me that it was true,

But it seemed to be out of the blue.

You held my hand and hugged me tight,

It finally began to feel right.

So we grabbed our drinks, and you made a toast,

“Here’s to love when you need it most.”

I love to sleep so I can see you in my dreams,

This love is real, so it seems.

I finally believed that everyone was right,

You would love me every day and every night.

We closed our eyes and drifted off to sleep,

The love we made was our secret to keep.

I’d slept beside you for many nights,

But this time it didn’t feel quite right.

I wondered what the morning would hold,

Then I woke up feeling so cold.

“I was drunk,” is what you claimed,

Now all this love turned to shame.

I long for sleep so I can see you in my dreams,

But who I thought you were is not real, it seems.

Suddenly I realized that it wasn’t right,

I was just your girl for that one night.

We’d grabbed our drinks and you’d made a toast,

“Here’s to love when you need it most.”

5 thoughts on “When You Need It Most

Leave a Reply

