Sleeping With PTSD

You scare me sometimes, PTSD…

When you sleep right next to me.

I lie there and wonder what happens in your dreams,

and who caused these screams.

There’s never a night you don’t wake me,

As you yell at the “men in the sea”.

Everyone is a “piece of shit,”

or a “son of a bitch”.

I run my hand through your hair,

and remind you that I’m there.

I unball your fists,

and kiss your wrists.

But you still scare me sometimes, PTSD…

because sometimes I become the enemy.

The look in your eyes and your arms around my neck,

make me wonder what will happen next.

I get out of bed and stand there quietly.

Watching you, watch me.

You scare me sometimes, PTSD…

because the man I love, you stole from me.

Leave a Reply

